Relient K – The First Three Gears (2000-2003) (Compilation)

The First Three Gears (2000-2003) Compilation


This compilation combines Relient K’s first three albums (Relient K, Anatomy Of The Tongue In Cheek, and Two Lefts Don’t Make A Right… But Three Do) into one three-disc package (for the individual ratings of those records, please see their reviews). It also contains several now-exclusive bonus tracks.

Bonus Tracks:

As bonuses, this compilation includes the rare exclusive tracks from Relient K’s two earliest EP’s, which have long been out of print. Disc 1 contains the single exclusive from the 2000 A.D.D. EP (“Breakdown (Live)”) and one of The Creepy EP tracks (“Softer To Me (Acoustic)”). The version of “Breakdown” illustrates how good they always have been live, even back at the very start— their layered and overlapping harmonies are perfect, and it’s a great track. The acoustic version of “Softer To Me” is even better; indeed, while its music is quite different from the final version, it’s actually nearly as good.

Disc 2 contains the rest of The Creepy EP tracks— “Operation”, “Jefferson Airplane (Demo)”, and “Pressing On (Back Porch Acoustic)”. B-side “Operation” is a familiarly metaphorical track (of which you can guess the topic ). The “Jefferson Airplane (Demo)” doesn’t necessarily sound like a demo (except for the occasionally out-of-tune vocals), and it’s interesting in the fact that its chorus is markedly different from the final version. Finally, “Pressing On (Back Porch Acoustic)” is an acoustic version that features slightly muted and purposefully not-perfect vocals, as well as various outdoor sound effects in the background (such as someone mowing their lawn, which actually goes on for about three minutes after the song is done! ). The harmonies in the latter portion of the song are quite pleasing, making this another good track.

Our rating for The First Three Gears (2000-2003) (Compilation): See First Three Album Ratings


Leave A Comment!